Skip to main content


The European Centre for Palestine Studies is directed by Professor Ilan Pappé, an internationally recognised leader in Palestine Studies and encompasses academic staff drawn from a number of disciplines across the University.

Centre Director

Professor Ilan Pappé

Professor of History, Director of the European Centre for Palestine Studies


Dr Nadia Naser-Najjab

Research Fellow

Professor William Gallois Professor of the Mediterranean Islamicate World
Dr. Katherine Natanel Lecturer in Gender Studies


Honorary Fellows

Professor Mick Dumper Professor in Middle East Politics
Dr. Ghada Karmi Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Uri Davis Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Ghassan Khatib Honorary Research Fellow

Dr Sami Miaari

Honorary Research Fellow
Mr Leslie McLoughlin Honorary Research Fellow
Professor Tim Niblock Professor Emeritus
Professor Gareth Stansfield Al-Qasimi Professor of Gulf Studies

Advisory board

Chair – Archbishop Desmond Tutu

Desmond Tutu, Anglican Archbishop Emeritus of Cape Town, South Africa, is an internationally renowned advocate for social justice. A founding member of The Elders – an independent group of eminent global leaders who work to ‘address major causes of human suffering and promote the shared interests of humanity’ – Archbishop Tutu rose to prominence during the 1980s as a leading opponent of apartheid.  He has since remained a tireless and inspiring critic of social inequity, whether manifest in the economy of post-apartheid South Africa, the barriers faced by the world’s poor in accessing medication for HIV/AIDS, or the reality of Palestine. Following the Israeli shelling of Beit Hanoun (northern Gaza) that killed 18 members of the same Palestinian family in November 2006, he led a United Nations investigations into possible war crimes. Archbishop Tutu’s social justice work has earned him widespread accolades, including receipt of the Nobel Peace Prize and the International Gandhi Peace Prize.

Noam Chomsky

Institute Professor and Professor Emeritus at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Noam Chomsky is the author of more than 150 books. He is widely regarded as having revolutionised the field of linguistics, but is perhaps even more well known for his contribution to contemporary political thought concerning the significance of power in intellectual life, struggles for freedom, and US foreign policy. In landmark publications ranging from his American Power and the New Mandarins (1969) to Year 501: The Conquest Continues (1993) and Fateful Triangle: The United States, Israel and the Palestinians, now in its third edition (1999), he has established a record – in the apt words of Arundhati Roy – as ‘one of the greatest, most radical public thinkers of our time.’

John Dugard

Professor John Dugard is a distinguished South African jurist and the Chair in Public International Law at Leiden University in the Netherlands. He has held a range of important international posts, including as Judge ad hoc on the International Court of Justice in 2000 and as a member of the UN International Law Commission since 1997. With the repression that met the onset of the Al-Aqsa Intifada in late 2000, Dugard was appointed to chair the United Nations Commission on Human Rights Inquiry concerning the occupied Palestinian territories. He went on to serve as Special Rapporteur on the Palestine question for the Commission and for its successor organisation, the UN Human Rights Council.

Richard Falk

Richard Falk is professor emeritus of international law at Princeton University, author or co-author of more than 20 books, and editor or co-editor of more than 20 others. In 2001, Falk served on the Inquiry headed by John Dugard concerning human rights in the occupied Palestinian territories. In 2006, he succeeded Dugard as Special Rapporteur on human rights in the occupied Palestinian territories for the Human Rights Council and is presently acting in this capacity. A leading public intellectual in the United States (and internationally), Falk also sits on the editorial boards of both The Nation and The Progressive.

Khalil Hindi

Professor Khalil Hindi is President of Birzeit University, a leading institution of research and higher learning in the occupied West Bank. Before assuming this position in 2010, he had held professorships in both engineering and management science at the American University of Beirut and at a number of British schools, including Brunel University, the University of Manchester and South Bank University, London. Professor Hindi is a founding member and serves on the board of trustees of the Gaza Library Project. He is former chairperson of the Association of the Palestinian Community in the UK.

Ronnie Kasrils

Ronnie Kasrils is a leading veteran of the South African anti-apartheid struggle and a former minister of the South African government. Kasrils has long been an important figure in the African National Congress. A member of the ANC’s National Executive Committee from 1987 to 2007, he also served in the ANC’s Political-Military Council from 1985-1989, as post-apartheid South Africa’s minister of defence from 1994-1999, and as Minister of Intelligence Services from 2004-2008. In 2001, he gained additional international attention when he spearheaded a ‘Declaration of Conscience by Jews of South African Descent’, and has since remained a prominent advocate of justice for Palestine.